John Shackelford
John Shackelford
Title: Director of Tennis
Phone: (931) 598-1485
Year: 34th

John Shackelford enters his 34th year with the Sewanee tennis program, and he enters his second year as Sewanee's Director of Tennis. 

After a stellar career at the helm of the men's tennis program, Shackelford was appointed to the Director of Tennis in August 2018 for both the men's and women's teams, where he will oversee recruiting, athlete development and fundraising for both teams.

In 2017, Sewanee finished with a 22-4 record to advance to their fourth straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The team finished in the Round of 16 after defeating then No. 29 Washington and Lee in the Round of 32. Along with winning his fifth straight SAA title, Shackelford was named the ITA Atlantic South Coach of the Year. 

In 2016, the Tigers won their fourth straight SAA regular season and tournament crown with an 18-7 mark, including a third straight trip to the NCAA Tournament. 

In 2015, the Tigers claimed their third straight SAA regular season and tournament championships and progressed to the second round of the NCAA tournament. Sophomore All-American Avery Schober was selected as the SAA Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Coach Shackelford also serves the University as the Special Assistant to Vice-Chancellor, the Chairman of the Cornerstone Initiative, and was the Chairman of the ReThink Task Force in 2013 that examined and reported on student life issues outside of the classroom.

The most successful men's coach in the history of the University, Shackelford's teams have advanced to the NCAA Division III tournament 16 times, won 12 conference championships and have also been listed in the ITA top-10 on four occasions. He has coached 17 All-Americans and 96 all-conference players: 33 in the CAC, 47 in the SCAC and 16 in the SAA.

Shackelford’s 32-year career record is 529-276. He has won the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Tennis Coach of the Year award on two occasions and the Southern Athletic Association (SAA) Coach of the Year honor once.

Coach Shackelford has twice been the chairman of the NCAA Men and Women's Tennis Committee, assists with the nationally recognized Sewanee women’s tennis program, and also directs the highly successful Tiger Tennis Camp for juniors and adults each June at The Domain in Sewanee.  

A native of Asheville, N.C., Shackelford, affectionately know as “Coach Shack,” has a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Carolina-Wilmington in physical education (1983) and has a master’s degree in Education from the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga (1987). He played tennis at Asheville High School and UNC-Wilmington and held a No. 1 Southern doubles ranking with former player Pat Guerry in the late 1980s.

John and his wife, Conchie, live in Sewanee with their four daughters; Avery, Sadie, Michaela, and Tessa.

Shackelford adds that his goal as coach of the Tiger Tennis program has always been to instill a sense of family within the team and this is evident in his players’ success both on and off the field. 

“Those who have gone before us have left a legacy of commitment and success. We hope to build on those traditions and make our hard work and dedication an important part of each student- athlete's Sewanee experience. Our athletic experience provides us with a unique opportunity to test ourselves in a variety of ways. We seek to meet those challenges and grow from them.’’


° 17 years in the NCAA Division tournament; 1988-89-90-93-95-96-97-98-2000-01-02-03-06-14-15-16-17

° 4 top 10 finishes in the final ITA national rankings

° 12 conference championships; 1986-88-89-90-91-93-97-2013-14-15-16-17


  • Pat Guerry, Four-time All-American, 1986(s)-87(s)-88(s)-89(s)
  • K.C. Horne, Six-time All-American, 1993 (d)-94(s/d)-95(s/d)-96(s)
  • Stephen Jackson, All-American in 1993(dbles)
  • Brian Morrow, Two-Time All-American in 1994(d)-95(d)
  • Adam Kent, All-American in 2002(s)
  • Jason Abraham, All-American in 2003(s)
  • Charlie Boyd, All-American in 2007(s)
  • Avery Schober, All-American in 2014(s)

National Senior Player of the Year

  • Pat Guerry, 1989

ITA Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award

  • Pat Guerry, 1988

ITA National Scholar-Athletes 

  • Pat Guerry, 1988,1989
  • Jameel Clark, 2003
  • Joe Carvalho, 2003, 2004, 2005
  • Logan Nalley, 2003, 2004
  • Beau Cox, 2004, 2005
  • Harley Nalley 2008
  • Charlie Boyd 2008
  • Jay Hill 2008 2009, 2010, 2011
  • Wyatt Harper 2008 2009
  • Phil Kuntz 2010, 2011
  • Rand Jackson 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
  • Eric Roddy 2013, 2014, 2015
  • Scott Gallimore 2015

ITA National Rookie of the Year

  • Pat Guerry, 1986
  • K.C. Horne, 1993

NCAA National Singles Semifinalist

  • Pat Guerry, 1986

Conference Player of the Year

  • K.C. Horne, 1995 SCAC Player of the Year
  • Avery Schober, 2014 and 2015 SAA Player of the Year