Four Field Hockey Student-Athletes Selected to All-SAA Team

Credits: Joe Dombrowski and Lyn Hutchinson
Credits: Joe Dombrowski and Lyn Hutchinson

SAA Release | 2019 Field Hockey All-Conference Awards

ATLANTA - The Southern Athletic Association (SAA) released the 2019 SAA Field Hockey All-Conference Team on Tuesday. Four student-athletes from The University of the South were honored with the postseason award.

Anne Cleveland and Ceara Caffrey took home First Team honors, while Caroline Sugar and Jo Jo Young were selected to the Second Team.

Cleveland earns her second All-SAA First Team selection as a sophomore. The Fort Worth, Texas native notched two assists for Sewanee, as she was the primary set-up player on penalty corners.

Caffrey records her third All-Conference selection, including her second straight honor on the First Team. The Scituate, Mass. native finished tied for second in the SAA in goals scored with 16, as she wraps up her career with 57 career goals on a .217 shooting percentage. Additionally, the senior's 35 points were fourth-best in the league as she totaled 123 in 63 career games.

Sugar picks up her second All-SAA honor as she is named to the Second Team in back-to-back seasons. The Canton, Conn. native was the primary penalty corner taker in 2019, as she totaled eight points on three goals and two assists.

Young earns her fourth All-Conference Second Team honor in her career with Sewanee. The McLean, Va. native was key for the Tigers' back row this season. Not only would she intercept passes from the opposition, she would help in transition for the Sewanee offense as well.

The Tigers concluded the 2019 season with a 6-11 record under first-year head coach Steve Simpson. Sewanee finished in the semifinals of the SAA Tournament.

For the latest news on the Sewanee Tigers, follow @SewaneeTigers on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.