No. 12 Tigers win fourth straight SAA Championship

No. 12 Tigers win fourth straight SAA Championship

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. (May 1, 2016) – For the fourth season in-a-row, the No. 12 ranked Sewanee women's tennis team is the Southern Athletic Association (SAA) Tournament champions. The nationally ranked Tigers defeated rival Birmingham-Southern 5-0, Sunday, at Old Fort Park.

The Tigers will enter the NCAA Tournament with a 21-5 overall record. After running through the conference since April 2, Sewanee also has won 14 straight matches. Additionally, Sewanee has not dropped a single point since its 5-1 win over No. 15 DePauw on March 26th.

On Sunday, Sewanee quickly jumped in front when the No. 1 doubles team of Lindsey Liles and Clementina Davila defeated Carlee Petro and Sara Cohen, 8-3. At No. 2 doubles, Bea Benavides and Christina Merchant defeated Isabella Wisener and McKenzie Courtney by the same 8-3 score. Finally, Maggie Crumbliss and Maura McCrary topped Mary Madison Taylor and Mary Evelyn Carroll, 8-4.

The Tigers wrapped up their fourth straight title as Davila defeated Cohen 6-0, 6-0 at No. 2 singles and Taylor Childress rolled past Carroll, 6-2, 6-1 at No. 5.

Sewanee will now wait to see if they will play host to an NCAA Regional later this month.


MVP - Lindsey Liles, Sewanee

Bea Benavides, Sewanee

Carlee Petro, Birmingham-Southern

Isabella Wisener, Birmingham-Southern

Mary Cerny, Berry

Kim Randall, Centre

Audrey Bennett, Millsaps

Katherine Walker, Oglethorpe

Anna Volkov, Rhodes

Laela Zaidi, Hendrix

For more information on Sewanee Athletics, please visit You can also check the Tigers out on TwitterFacebookYouTube, and Flickr.